Visiting houses & gardens

Screen shot 2010-12-05 at 22_07_01

 If anyone knows where I can get this paper, please let me know!

The reason for asking is that since I visited the house that I’ll talk about below I’ve become a bit obsessed with wallpapers, particularly hand-painted ones by de Gournay. (wallpapers from Gracie and Fromental are also delightful).  I’ve been pinning my inspiration onto Pinterest.

~

I digress.

Last year I bought a book, London’s Country Houses by Caroline Knight.

 It reminded me to linger at the gates into Green Park next to the Ritz and think about Devonshire House, which once stood behind those gates (they are all that remain).  Devonshire House was one of the many palatial-sized London homes of the nobility built during the 18th century.  Sadly, the great wars and death duties saw the house abandoned, its plot sold and the building razed to the ground.

That said, the point…

View original post 1,734 more words

