Tags

, , , , ,

as I live near York I would have to start by looking at what is on offer in the city.

Image

Image borrowed from House’s website (http://www.fairfaxhouse.co.uk/?idno=1)

Naturally, this means first considering Fairfax House.

I already love this building – even it is only a small fraction of what was there originally.

The Noel Terry collection of furniture, clocks and objets d’art is fantastic and although it is a staged property there is still a homely feel about it (I expect to turn a corner and meet my name sake, Anne Fairfax

Image

Portrait of Anne Fairfax
Painted by the French artist, Phillipe Mercier in about 1742, we see Anne depicted in pious mood as a shepherdess (http://www.fairfaxhouse.co.uk/?idno=704)

It is possible to hire the house for functions, including private dinners and with a Georgian dinner menu at £45.00 per head for four courses plus coffee I could I possibly not have this towards the top of my list of birthday venues?

For more information and to see the menu see Dining – Private & Corporate Entertainment

Next exhibition starts on 28th March 2014 – 100 Years of Fashion Accessories 1720-1820

